Awards and Social Session

(1) Awards Luncheon: Howery Award, Going to Bat Award, Ann Schumacher Award

Tuesday, August 27, 2019 12:10 PM - 1:40 PM

The Victor I. Howery Memorial Award is given each year to an individual who has made significant contributions to the rural mental health field.

The “Going to Bat Award” is given to an individual for advocacy in the area of rural mental health above and beyond the call of duty. This year's award goes to Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham. Michelle Lujan Grisham began her professional career as director of the state agency on aging, providing free legal service to seniors. Elevated by Lujan Grisham’s leadership, the agency was made a Cabinet-level department. Across her career in state government, she served under three different governors, Republican and Democrat, demonstrating her lifelong emphasis on positive, productive, result-oriented work above all else. She was elected to the U.S. Congress, serving three terms in Washington on behalf of New Mexico’s 1st Congressional District. As a member of Congress, she worked aggressively to support local tribes, equal pay for women, public schools, public lands and veterans’ health care; she also advocated strongly for saving and creating clean New Mexico jobs. As of Jan. 1, Lujan Grisham became the first Latina Democratic governor of New Mexico in the U.S. A New Mexico native, Lujan Grisham was born in Los Alamos and graduated from St. Michael’s High School in Santa Fe. She earned undergraduate and law degrees from the University of New Mexico. Lujan Grisham, 59, a 12th-generation New Mexican, is the mother of two adult children and grandmother of three. She is the caretaker for her mother, Sonja.

Lujan Grisham previously served as Secretary of Health of New Mexico (2004–2007) and Bernalillo County Commissioner (2010–2012). She was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in the 2012 election, defeating Janice Arnold-Jones. In 2016, Lujan Grisham was selected as the Chair of the Congressional Hispanic Caucus.[1] Lujan Grisham won the Democratic nomination for Governor of New Mexico in the 2018 election and defeated Republican Steve Pearce, on November 6, 2018.

The Ann Schumacher award recognizes and memorializes the significant contribution of Ann Schumacher, LCSW, past president elect to the National Association of Rural Mental Health. The award is presented annually to an experienced practitioner who has demonstrated excellence, innovation, professional development and who has worked with domestic violence.

(2) Reception and Flamenco Dancing

Tuesday, August 27, 2019 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM


(3) Breakfast Buffet, NARMH Membership Meeting, Rural Arts Award and Welcome

Wednesday, August 28, 2019 7:30 AM - 9:10 AM

The National Association for Rural Mental Health established the Rural Arts Award in 2007 to honor the life-long contributions of Peter G. (Pete) Beeson to both rural mental health and the rural arts. Pete has been a long time member of NARMH, also a member of its board of directors as well as a Howery Award winner.

(4) Networking at Local Restaurants

Wednesday, August 28, 2019 5:00 PM -

Meet in the lobby to travel together to local restaurants to network.

(5) Closing Session: Next Steps and Door Prizes

Thursday, August 29, 2019 12:10 PM - 12:30 PM